I just love Star Wars. It was the first movie I ever saw (of course I was a month old at the time). We used to play that our bikes were millenium falcon and that stinky kid we didn’t like was Darth Vader. I was Princess Leia, of course, being the only girl in our group of friends.

My boys, now 8 and 6, beg to watch Star Wars. They learned to play chess with Star Wars Chess. The first toy we got for Evie was Darth Tater. I desperately want the AT-AT stroller. You the see the trend, right?

So I got the crazy idea to make a baby bonnet for Evie that looked like Princess Leia. As I lie awake at night wishing for sleep these are the strange things that go through my head. A few days later and we have her Princess Leia Baby Bonnet.

leia

Modeled by the ever helpful but unfortunately not baby-sized helper monkey.

Pattern: My Own, I’ll try to write it out if anyone is interested.

Yarn: Vanna’s Choice in chocolate. Since it was a trial I don’t mind using leftover acrylic yarn.

Needles: Size 6 straights and size 4 DPNs for the buns.

leiabun

I used ribbon to tie it, but I think I’d prefer an i-cord.

My husband asked what I was making last night. When I told him, he just rolled his eyes. Of course, he’s the one who hasn’t stopped wearing this, even in 100+ degree weather.

seanhat

Pregnancy News: Still waiting to hear about the blood test results. I had high blood pressure and swelling, so we did more tests. I called today and they were going to look for the results. I guess if they were worried they’d be a little more… worried? It’s a 4 day weekend for them, so I hope everything was alright. I guess we will find out tuesday morning at our 38 week appointment. Edit: the receptionist called just as I got done typing. She can’t get the lab on the phone. I tell her about my very swollen hands and feet and that I’m a tad worried, she’s going to try again to get someone on the phone cause they haven’t gotten the results. We shall see.

