DH Sean is out of town till Monday night. His ma and brother took him to Texas to go to a water park. Sounds great till you realize we live in CA! Travis, the brother, has been wanting to go to this water park since he was 5 and he turned 18 this year and what with him going to college and Sean getting married and expecting his first child, his mom decided it would be a good idea for them to go on vacation one last time. It’s funny, I wasn’t invited last year when this was planned. Her excuse now is that I’m too pregnant. Well I wasn’t pregnant last year! Oh well. It’s just very lonely and quiet without DH around. I did sleep rather well without his snoring, but I’d take his snoring over a cold bed anyday.

They left super early Sat morning. DH kissed me goodbye as I was half asleep and said his mother had left me a present on the counter for when I woke up. Well I couldn’t go back to bed after that! I went out and found a big wrapped box. The card said, “Baby Shower in a Box”

box

Well how cool is that! I expected a few outfits and maybe a blanket, boy was I ever in for a treat. Here’s the list of what was in the box:

5 bibs
1 blanket
4 socks
3 tights
2 bottles (which I have no plans to use but thats ok)

carrieclothes

1 sunblock
2 pants
2 blue outfits
2 Christmas outfits
2 3-piece outfits
1 pink jumper

I was just floored. That’s so much! When DH called last night I told him about it. He said his mom had been planning it for months now and spent about $400. Holy cow! What a grandma! Sadly, I know I took photos of the clothes, but they seem to have disappeared. I’m terribly confused about that, and since I’m nuerotic about washing new clothes, they are already in the wash.

As if that wasn’t enough, my mom came down and we went shopping. I had mentioned earlier in the week here in this blog that I didn’t have a basinet or somewhere for the baby to sleep besides our bed. So mom got me a Graco Pack and Play that has a basinet/changing table in it.

graco

That’s definitely going to come in handy. The she too decided Evie needed clothes and such. So mom bought:

5 side-snap shirts
1 brown courderoy jacket
1 denim-jumper
1 green outfit
4 socks
4 recieving blankets
1 baby book

momclothes

The photo doesn’t do it justice, but the jacket is the most adorable thing ever. I want one for me!

Evie is so spoiled and she isn’t even born yet! I suppose that comes from being the first girl on both sides of the families in this generation. My boys got plenty of gifts, but this weekend was overwhelming. The good news is I’m not worried now. We have everything we need for the first few weeks. 96 newborn diapers, she won’t even get through those. I do need lanolin and nursing pads. I forgot to grab those yesterday. Oops!

I did manage to grab this!

yarn

11 balls of yarn! I love my mommy. One ball was in use and couldn’t be added to the photo, plus it would have messed up my pyramid. I discovered this pinwheel sweater by Elann. I’m dying to make it! RippedoffKnitter made one in adult size and it is just gorgeous, go see!

pinwheel

Isn’t it gorgeous? It’s a big project for me and I’m so nervous. I want it to turn out well! Unfortunately I’m missing all the needles I need. Tomorrow will be another shopping trip for 4.5mm ( US 7) , 5 mm ( US 8) and 5.5 mm ( US 9) double pointed needles and 5.5 mm (US 9) circular needles 40 cm and 60 cm (16” and 24”). Oi! It’s funny, I have 2, 3,4 and 10 dpns. So all the ones in the middle I’m missing is what I need! Another thing that makes me nervous is the circulars. I don’t use them often. If at all. I’m told they are easier than dpns. I really don’t want to mess up the sweater!

Also, obviously, I didn’t get the yarn the pattern calls for. Wool in CA? Wool is hot and scratchy and not recommended for small children so that’s out.

Sean won’t be home till tomorrow night, so I get to knit all weekend plus Monday without feeling too terribly guilty. I want to have a surprise waiting for him when he gets home anyways. Can you tell what it is?

r2

So Sophie and I are going to take it easy. Evie wants to kick and mosh around day and night, so I will rest for the two of us. Sophie just loves to nap on top of the computer. She’s there now as a matter of fact.

sophienap

And because this blog isn’t full of photos as it is, I give you last night’s dinner. Also to prove that I can feed myself even while DH is out of town. We have a delicious vegetable bird’s nest with sweet soy sauce and fire-roasted balsamic butter vegetables. Amazingly tasty. Gotta love Trader Joe’s! Don’t worry, I’ll have some protein today.

dinner

