blossomfo

Blossom is finished!

Model: Beary, Zane’s Bear (since Evie is still in my tummy she makes a terrible model)

Pattern: Blossom by Magknits

Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Dreambaby D.K. in Sage

This is my first big blocking and seaming FO and it could have gone better. I didn’t check my gauge so it will not fit size 0-3. She will have something to grow into. It looks pretty crummy on the bear, but I didn’t make it bear-size. Also I somehow reversed the side ribbing so it isn’t in the front, it is actually on the side. Still really not sure how I managed that. I think I would like to try this pattern again. I just didn’t want to frog it, I wanted to feel some sense of accomplishment. Let’s call this a run-through, shall we?

I knit a little flower and pinned it on.  Thank goodness I didn’t sew it on cause it’s awful.  I’ll figure something out.  I’m not sure enough of my embroidery skills to risk that just yet.

blocking blossom

It was so scary throwing this in the tub! Don’t mind the dirty tub, alright? I can’t bend over that far to clean it anymore.

blocking blossom 2

All pinned up and waiting to be pretty. I actually pinned it to the baby’s changing pad on her changing table. I didn’t have any other board, so that will have to be next on my shopping list.

blossom attack

I pinned her down and covered her with a towel. The next morning I realized the only clean towel in the house was covering blossom! Not thinking much of it, I uncovered her and left her open to attack. Poor thing. I managed to fix it and learned a valuable lesson, don’t let Sophie near knitting!

Some WIPs

monkey wip

Here’s a terrible picture of the Monkey socks. Also, I put them on upside-down! Silly me. I like to think these will turn out alright, but as they are my first real sock, who knows. They seem a little big. It is a fun project though so at least I am learning.

scarfwip

My Mother-In-Law asked that I make her a scarf for her Xmas present. I literally spent days experimenting with patterns finding one I could keep track of and not mess up and also that I was proud of. I settled on this Seafoam Scarf. I’m really liking the way it knits up, its pretty and easy!

scarfco

I don’t think it will wait till Xmas though. Winter is short here in California, and if I wait till the end of December she will have maybe two months to wear it. It gets chilly in October, how about a Halloween present?

Pregnancy News

I am 33 weeks, almost 34. I have insomnia when I am not pregnant and it is so much worse this far along. My neighbors are college students and it seems they just returned to town for school as they are so loud. 4 am and their stereo woke me up. I had just fallen asleep too. I laid in bed and cried for an hour till I passed out. The boys are with their father this week so at least there is less work to do around the house. They are going camping this weekend, no cell phones, so I can’t even talk to them. I miss them.

Evie is quite a kicker, mover and shaker. You’d think this far along she wouldn’t have enough room to get any good kicks in, but you, and I, would be wrong. She definitely has a personality already. Fiesty thing! I know there is a lot of pregnancy amnesia that happens after the baby is born but I honestly don’t remember either of the boys being so busy and moving so often. I have a feeling Evie will be a handful.

Besides the migraines, which are nearly constant, I can’t complain too much. I have migraines often even when I’m not pregnant. My hands are swollen, but a lot of that has to do with knitting as well. I think I am enjoying this pregnancy a lot more than the other two. I had to be on bedrest with the boys for the entire 9 months. This one hasn’t had many problems so it’s just a modified bedrest. I have been having a lot of contractions lately. They are random and not in any pattern so I just lay down and drink a lot of water. Doc isn’t worried so I guess I am not either.

Evie is a big baby, just like her brothers. They were both induced two weeks early since they were so big. Both over 8 pounds. Two weeks early! She has long legs and is measuring a few weeks big. I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll be induced again. That would mean 5 weeks to go. It sure went by fast.

Evie is due Sept 18. All I care is that she isn’t born on the 11th. I would hate to share my birthday with a day full of news about the terrible terrorist attacks. My mom says it wouldn’t be that big of a deal and I’m worrying about nothing. Oh well. Mommies worry.

I think I’ve rambled enough and it’s time to save my hands for knitting.

