tutorial sock starter
Yesterday I started learning how to knit socks. I did silver’s sock tutorial which I highly recommend. So easy to follow! I cheated a bit and only did an inch or so of each step. I didn’t want a sock, just wanted to learn the steps. So now I want to make Knitty’s Monkey sock, as suggested by the fantastic knitters at Crafster. Mnemosyne_LA started hers last night, in the same exact yarn I had planned to use. How weird is that!

yarn and dpns

I splurged today and got a set of 5 size 2 rosewood dpns and some other yarn since I’m afraid I might not have enough. Here’s my two color choices so far. I might have to go with the reddish, because I have more yards of that and the only store that has the green is 30 mins away and I won’t be there again till my next OB appointment. The reddish is Soxx Appeal Chocolate Cherry. The greenish is Crystal Palace Bamboozle in Fern.

bonnet

Sophie likes to sit on my lap and watch me knit. She’s generally pretty good about not attacking the yarn or the needles. She’s 16ish weeks, and a very good kitty. Thats my start of yarnfwd bonnet. It’s filled with M1s and I am having a hard time with them. I may not finish this one.

Today I’m finishing the thumbless mittens, starting a monkey sock and teaching my 8 year old how to knit. Should be an exciting day!

blossom

My next project I think will be this beautiful baby dress for Evie.  It’s blossom from Magknits.   I just saw some of this yarn at the shop today and wanted to find a project for it, but 3 balls = about $27.  It may have to wait awhile, or I may just substitue something not as nice.  I’ll have to think on that.

