Knitty’s Fetching, 7dpns at once!

Originally uploaded by lhawi

These are my first trip into the world of double pointed needles. I taught myself how to use them with the help of knittinghelp.com. I cast on at 8am. Off and on through-out the day and by 8 pm I had my first of the pair done. I am so proud of myself!

I was very nervous about the thumb, this pattern asks you to knit waste yarn into the thumb hole then go back to it. I didn’t want to finish it all then go back and discover I’d knitted the thumb part wrong, so I didn’t wait. At one point I had 8 needles going in one armwarmer. My husband looked at me funny. I laughed myself silly.

The good news is, it turned out just right.

The pattern can be found at http://knitty.com/ISSUEsummer06/PATTfetching.html

The yarn is Caron Simply Soft Shadows in Mardi Grey.

