layette

This is my weekend of knitting.

Yarn for Layette: Bernat Baby Softee.  There’s nothing wrong with this yarn, I just don’t particularly like the colors.  I wish they had had a better selection. Yarn for Toy:  I dont know, a thick chunky cheap acrylic type yarn.

booties

Pattern: Two Needle Cable Baby Booties were simple to make.  As much as I hate seaming this was super easy and they’re cute.

 Needles: US size 6 straights

Mods: none

cable of booties

A close-up of the cable and the eyelets.  I used a cheap pink ribbon to tie it together.

hat

Pattern: Spiral Rib Hat

Needles:  Number 6 circs

Mods: I cut out a repeat of the first 18 rows.  I wanted it to fit a newborn.

mittens

PatternBaby’s Thumbless Mittens

Needles: size2 dpns

Mods: added the pink ribbon

notalien

My very first knit toy!

PatternAlien

Needles: size 7 dpns

Mods:  First off I accidently embroidered the face onto the body.  Oops.

head of notalien

It was my first time embroidering really, it came out funky but alright.  Here he is posing in front of our Cowboy Bebop wallscroll.

So since I had to make the face a body I added a few more rows of KFB and twice the rows of straight knitting.  Also I accidently turned him inside out and left it that way after  the embroidery so his body is WS!

I have to say, this was another super easy pattern, no seaming which is a mega-plus in my book.  Check out all of her patterns, they are so cute and simple.

DH really wanted me to add bunny ears but I like the way he looks armless and legless.  So I made him a scarf out of leftover Vanna’s Choice chocolate and mustard.  I think a hat may be in order as well.

I stuffed him with leftover scraps of yarn, which worked much better than I thought it would.  I’m going to start two more today, for my boys.  I want to have a present for them when they come visit me and their new sister in the hospital.

