I’ve finished one sleeve for the pinwheel sweater and I’m working on the last one.  I thought I would share the way I’ve been doing the armhole and sleeve because the pattern is difficult to read and understand – for me at least.  And since I had done it this way for Piggle and… something else… it was already familiar to me.

When you get to the part of the pattern that says “knit the first set of 18 stitches and the yo from the round before, place the second set of 18 stitches on a holder, join a new ball of yarn and cast on 18 stitches using a provisional cast on – see below for provisional cast on instructions (this will be the sleeve later), join yarn and continue knitting 4 more sets of 18 stitches plus the yo’s from the previous round, slip the next 18 stitches on a holder, join yarn and cast on 18 stitches using a provisional cast on, knit the last 18 stitches and yo from the previous round.”  Ignore it.  Way to confusing in my mind!

What I did (which I’ve discovered is also called an afterthought heel, interesting) is knit the 18 stitches plus one yo on waste yarn, then turn the work and knit these same 19 stitches again with waste yarn.  Switch back to your working yarn and continue the pattern.   In the middle of your sweater you will have two rows of waste yarn where the armhole will go.  It looks like this.

pinwheel armhole

When you’re ready to do the sleeves, pick up 19 stitches of one side on #9 needle.  Personally it’s easier for me to see what stitches to pick up if I do it on the wrong side.  Just push the needles through to the right side when you are ready to knit.

pinwheel sophie

Pick up the other side of the 19 stitches and it looks like this.

pinwheelwaste

Now you remove the waste yarn,  a tad scary, I know.  You end up with two needles and an armhole!

pinwheel 2 needles

Spread the stitches out to 3 or 4 needles, whichever you prefer, then continue the pattern.

The only thing that I discovered, and I suppose I’m missing something, maybe someone can point it out, is that I now have to purl the sleeves in order for it to look the same as the rest.  No big deal but knitting is a lot faster than purling for me!

If you see anything wrong in my explaination, please do let me know!  Enjoy your pinwheel sweater!

